The Tale of Lyla and Bendle

blog-lyla-bendleThe tale of Lyla and Bendle is an epic one, in the sense that it can go on for months, if not years if you choose.

I started out with the two “children” because I had two young kids at the time (Lauren and Ben) — I eventually had a third kiddo, Andrew.

It’s common sense, but matching the characters closely to your kids helps them to really get involved in the story. But, let them do the personalizing – you don’t have to make it too obvious…that’s part of the fun and magic.

I borrowed heavily from other tales, especially when I was tired – Star Trek episodes, Star Wars, old Johnny Quest cartoons, whatever suits your fancy – using the ideas but not the actual characters.  For example, I wouldn’t insert Darth Vader by name in a story, but I might insert a hovercraft like Luke Skywalker’s “Land Speeder” in the first movie.

In subsequent blog posts, I’ll share some of the episode narratives and notes.  I only filled out the first 3 episodes of the story for you. Beyond that, I wrote some loose story notes for other episodes that I can remember doing.

The rest, you can make up as you go. That’s part of the fun, especially as you get into the characters.

One thought on “The Tale of Lyla and Bendle

Leave a Reply

