Are you my Sphero?

I hosted the Sphero team at a Robot Meet-up at SXSW Interactive 2011.

Sphero is a cool little robotic ball that you can control with your iPhone.

I would have bought one then, but they were still under development.

I understand.  Making great products can be hard.

[“Are you my Sphero?”  “No,” said the little blue squeezy ball.  “I am not your Sphero.”]

But then, I got an email saying that the website was online.  On it, you could provide your email to be first in line to pre-order a Sphero.

So I did.

Then I waited to get the chance to actually place an order.  Then I got an email saying I could.

So, I did.

[“Are you my Sphero?”  “No,” said the big blue exercise ball.  “I am not your Sphero.”]

Cool, I thought.  I’ll get the Sphero well ahead of Christmas time.  It’ll make a great gift.

So, I waited.

Then, I got an email in December saying that I wouldn’t get my Sphero by Christmas.

And that they were really sorry.

But I would get a t-shirt.  (I got it yesterday…it’s dark grey.)

[“Are you my Sphero?”  “No,” said the whiteboard thought bubble.  “I am not your Sphero.”]

I saw a tweet yesterday saying Sphero was shipping.  Today is December 22.  I hope I get it tomorrow – that would be great!

Until then, I’m still waiting for my Sphero.

…To be continued.

Leave a Reply

